Log Out | Member Center



Kansas Baseball Hall announces six-member induction class

  • Eagle staff
  • Published Thursday, Dec. 19, 2013, at 5:42 p.m.

Former Wichita State star P.J. Forbes and Cowley College coach Dave Burroughs head the list of 2014 inductees announced by the Kansas Baseball Hall of Fame.

The induction class will also include the 1954-55 Boeing Bombers, former big-league pitcher George Dockins of Clyde, baseball pioneer Melvin Truby of Independence, and longtime semipro standout Jerry Webster of Mulvane.

Forbes, a Pittsburg native, was the second baseman on Wichita State’s 1989 College Word Series championship team and later played briefly in the major leagues before becoming a minor-league manager.

Burroughs has won 1028 games in 26 seasons at Cowley, 15 Jayhawk Conference division titles and two NJCAA championships.

The induction banquet will be Jan. 25 at Hillside Christian Church, 8330 E. Douglas. Wichita State coach Todd Butler will be the featured speaker. Former Shocker Pat Meares, who was elected to the hall last year, will be inducted with this class.

Subscribe to our newsletters

The Wichita Eagle welcomes your comments on news of the day. The more voices engaged in conversation, the better for us all, but do keep it civil. Please refrain from profanity, obscenity, spam, name-calling or attacking others for their views. Please see our commenting policy for more information.

Have a news tip? You can send it to wenews@wichitaeagle.com or consider joining the Public Insight Network and become a source for The Wichita Eagle.

Search for a job


Top jobs