Log Out | Member Center



Coaches’ All-Big 12 teams K-State’s Ryan Mueller, Tyler Lockett win Big 12 coaches’ individual awards

  • The Kansas City Star
  • Published Wednesday, Dec. 11, 2013, at 11:18 a.m.
  • Updated Wednesday, Dec. 18, 2013, at 1:05 p.m.

•  Offensive Player of the Year: Bryce Petty, Baylor, QB, Jr.

•  Co-Defensive Players of the Year: Jason Verrett, TCU, DB, Sr.; Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas, DE, Sr.

•  Offensive Newcomer of the Year: Charles Sims, West Virginia, RB, Sr.

•  Offensive Lineman of the Year: Cyril Richardson, Baylor, Sr.

•  Defensive Newcomer of the Year: Isaiah Johnson, Kansas, DB, So.

•  Defensive Lineman of the Year: Ryan Mueller, Kansas State, DE, Jr.

•  Offensive Freshman of the Year: Baker Mayfield, Texas Tech, QB

•  Special Teams Player of the Year: Tyler Lockett, Kansas State, PR/KR, Jr.

•  Defensive Freshman of the Year: Dominique Alexander, Oklahoma, LB

•  Chuck Neinas Coach of the Year: Art Briles, Baylor

First-team offense

•  Quarterback: Bryce Petty, Baylor, Jr.

•  Running backs: Lache Seastrunk, Baylor, Jr.; Charles Sims, West Virginia, Sr.

•  Fullback: Trey Millard, Oklahoma, Sr.

•  Receivers: Antwan Goodley, Baylor, Jr.; Tevin Reese, Baylor, Sr.; Tyler Lockett, Kansas State, Jr.

•  Tight end: Jace Amaro, Texas Tech, Jr.

•  Offensive line: Spencer Drango, Baylor, So.; Cyril Richardson, Baylor, Sr.; B.J. Finney, Kansas State, Sr., Gabe Ikard, Oklahoma, Sr.; Parker Graham, Oklahoma State, Sr.

•  Kicker: Anthony Fera, Texas, Sr.

•  Returner: Tyler Lockett, Kansas State, Jr.

First-team defense

•  Defensive line: Chris McAllister, Baylor, Sr.; Ryan Mueller, Kansas State, Jr.; Charles Tapper, Oklahoma, So.; Calvin Barnett, Oklahoma State, Sr.; Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas, Sr.

•  Linebackers: Eddie Lackey, Baylor, Sr.; Jeremiah George, Iowa State, Sr.; Shaun Lewis, Oklahoma State, Sr.

•  Defensive backs: Ahmad Dixon, Baylor, Sr.; Ty Zimmerman, Kansas State, Sr.; Aaron Colvin, Oklahoma, Sr.; Justin Gilbert, Oklahoma State, Sr.; Jason Verrett, TCU, Sr.

•  Punter: Spencer Roth, Baylor, Jr.

Second-team offense

•  Quarterback: Clint Chelf, Oklahoma State, Sr.

•  Running backs: James Sims, Kansas, Sr.; Malcolm Brown, Texas, Jr.

•  Fullback: Kye Staley, Oklahoma State, Sr.

•  Receivers: Jalen Saunders, Oklahoma, Sr.; Josh Stewart, Oklahoma State, Jr.; Jaxon Shipley, Texas, Jr.

•  Tight end: EJ Bibbs, Iowa State, Jr.

•  Offensive line: Cody Whitehair, Kansas State, Jr.; Daryl Williams, Oklahoma, Jr.; Donald Hawkins, Texas, Sr.; Trey Hopkins, Texas, Sr.; Le’Raven Clark, Texas Tech, So.

•  Kicker: Michael Hunnicutt, Oklahoma, Jr.

•  Returner: Josh Stewart, Oklahoma State, Jr.

Second-team defense

•  Defensive line: Tyler Johnson, Oklahoma State, Sr.; Chucky Hunter, TCU, Jr.; Cedric Reed, Texas, Jr.; Kerry Hyder, Texas Tech, Sr.; Will Clarke, West Virginia, Sr.

•  Linebackers: Ben Heeney, Kansas, Jr.; Eric Striker, Oklahoma, So.; Caleb Lavey, Oklahoma State, Sr.

•  Defensive backs: Jacques Washington, Iowa State, Sr.; Daytawion Lowe, Oklahoma State, Sr.; Sam Carter, TCU, Jr.; Carrington Byndom, Texas, Sr.; Darwin Cook, West Virginia, Sr.

•  Punter: (tie) Kirby Van Der Kamp, Iowa State, Sr.; Nick O’Toole, West Virginia, So.

Kansas State juniors Ryan Mueller and Tyler Lockett won Big 12 individual awards handed out by the league’s coaches on Wednesday.

Mueller, a St. Thomas Aquinas grad from Leawood, was chosen defensive lineman of the year, while Lockett won special teams player of the year.

Additionally, offensive lineman B.J. Finney and defensive back Ty Zimmerman joined Mueller and Lockett, who was honored as a receiver and as a kick returner, on the coaches’ All-Big 12 first team.

Kansas safety Isaiah Johnson was chosen defensive newcomer of the year. Johnson, a sophomore transfer from Cary, N.C., had five interceptions, the most by a KU player since 2008.

Also, KU senior running back James Sims and junior linebacker Ben Heeney, and K-State junior offensive lineman Cody Whitehair were second-team picks by the coaches.

Mueller led K-State with 11 1/2 sacks. He also made 61 tackles, and was a candidate for The Associated Press’ Big 12 defensive player of the year award, which went to Texas end Jackson Jeffcoat. The coaches’ defensive player of the year award was shared by Jeffcoat and TCU cornerback Jason Verrett.

Lockett led the Big 12 with 151.4 all-purpose yards per game and holds the K-State career kickoff-return yardage record with 1,760. He ranks second with four career kickoff-return touchdowns and a 30.9-yard kickoff-return average.

Subscribe to our newsletters

The Wichita Eagle welcomes your comments on news of the day. The more voices engaged in conversation, the better for us all, but do keep it civil. Please refrain from profanity, obscenity, spam, name-calling or attacking others for their views. Please see our commenting policy for more information.

Have a news tip? You can send it to wenews@wichitaeagle.com.

Search for a job


Top jobs