Log Out | Member Center



Royals’ Gordon, Perez and Hosmer win Gold Gloves

  • Kansas City Star
  • Published Tuesday, Oct. 29, 2013, at 11:50 p.m.
  • Updated Thursday, Jan. 30, 2014, at 1:13 p.m.


Complete list of Royals’ Gold Glove winners

1971: OF Amos Otis

1973: OF Amos Otis

1974: OF Amos Otis

1977: OF Al Cowens and 2B Frank White

1978: 2B Frank White

1979: 2B Frank White

1980: OF Willie Wilson and 2B Frank White

1981: 2B Frank White

1982: 2B Frank White

1985: 3B George Brett

1986: 2B Frank White

1987: 2B Frank White

1989: C Bob Boone and P Bret Saberhagen

2000: OF Jermaine Dye

2006: 2B Mark Grudzielanek

2011: LF Alex Gordon

2012: LF Alex Gordon

2013: LF Alex Gordon, 1B Eric Hosmer and C Salvy Perez

Put the Royals on the gold standard.

Left fielder Alex Gordon, catcher Salvy Perez and first baseman Eric Hosmer won Gold Gloves for defensive excellence Tuesday in balloting that combined on-field staff evaluations and defensive metrics.

It marked the first time in franchise history that more than two Royals had won Gold Gloves, which have been presented by Rawlings Sporting Goods since 1957.

Shortstop Alcides Escobar and center fielder Lorenzo Cain were among the three American League finalists at their position. The winners for both leagues were announced in a live cablecast by ESPN2.

Gordon won for the third straight season after leading the league with 19 outfield assists and committing one error in 155 games in left field. The other finalists were Oakland’s Yoenis Cespedes and Detroit’s Andy Dirks.

Perez and Hosmer are first-time recipients.

The Royals had multiple winners on only three previous occasions: outfielder Al Cowens and second baseman Frank White in 1977, outfielder Willie Wilson and White in 1980, and catcher Bob Boone and pitcher Bret Saberhagen in 1989.

The winners were determined through a vote by the managers and up to six coaches from each club plus, for the first time this year, a sabermetric-based component consisting of various defensive metrics.

Managers and coaches were not permitted to vote for players from their own teams. Rawlings said the new sabermetric component accounted for 25 percent to 30 percent of the voting total.

Gordon is one of just three players in franchise history to win the award more than once. White was an eight-time recipient, while outfielder Amos Otis was a three-time winner.

Perez beat out two former recipients in Baltimore’s Matt Wieters (2011-12) and Minnesota’s Joe Mauer (2008-10).

Hosmer was a finalist in 2012 before winning this season’s award over Baltimore’s Chris Davis and Tampa Bay’s James Loney.

Subscribe to our newsletters

The Wichita Eagle welcomes your comments on news of the day. The more voices engaged in conversation, the better for us all, but do keep it civil. Please refrain from profanity, obscenity, spam, name-calling or attacking others for their views. Please see our commenting policy for more information.

Have a news tip? You can send it to wenews@wichitaeagle.com.

Search for a job


Top jobs