Log Out | Member Center



46 Kansas counties eligible for federal aid to repair infrastructure damaged by storms, floods

  • The Wichita Eagle
  • Published Tuesday, Oct. 22, 2013, at 10:04 p.m.
  • Updated Thursday, Oct. 24, 2013, at 6:53 a.m.

Forty-six Kansas counties are eligible for aid to repair infrastructure damaged by severe summer storms and flooding under a federal disaster declaration approved Tuesday by President Obama.

The declaration, requested by Gov. Sam Brownback last month, covers counties that suffered damage to bridges, roads and other infrastructure between July 22 and Aug. 16, according to a news release from the Kansas Adjutant General’s Department. The move also authorizes all 105 Kansas counties to apply for funds through the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program, which helps communities curb the effects of future disasters.

Eligible to apply for the public assistance funds are Barber, Barton, Bourbon, Butler, Chase, Cherokee, Clark, Clay, Cloud, Coffey, Comanche, Cowley, Crawford, Dickinson, Edwards, Elk, Ellsworth, Ford, Geary, Greenwood, Hamilton, Harper, Harvey, Hodgeman, Kingman, Kiowa, Lane, Linn, Lyon, Marion, McPherson, Meade, Montgomery, Morris, Ness, Ottawa, Pawnee, Pratt, Reno, Republic, Rice, Saline, Sumner, Washington, Wilson and Woodson counties.

Counties may be added to the list if requested by the state and they meet damage assessment guidelines, according to the news release.

Reach Amy Renee Leiker at 316-268-6644 or aleiker@wichitaeagle.com. Follow her on Twitter: @amyreneeleiker.

Subscribe to our newsletters

The Wichita Eagle welcomes your comments on news of the day. The more voices engaged in conversation, the better for us all, but do keep it civil. Please refrain from profanity, obscenity, spam, name-calling or attacking others for their views. Please see our commenting policy for more information.

Have a news tip? You can send it to wenews@wichitaeagle.com.

Search for a job


Top jobs