Log Out | Member Center



Xavier McDaniel headed to National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame

  • The Wichita Eagle
  • Published Monday, July 29, 2013, at 11:27 a.m.
  • Updated Tuesday, July 30, 2013, at 7:14 a.m.

Shockers in Halls of Fame

Wichita State athletes or coaches in a sport’s major hall of fame, with induction year

College baseball

Phil Stephenson, 2007

Joe Carter, 2009

Darren Dreifort, 2009

Don Heinkel, 2010

College basketball

Ralph Miller (coach), 2006

Xavier McDaniel, 2013

College football

Jim Bausch, 1954

Chelo Huerta (coach), 2002

Willie Jeffries (coach), 2010

x-Naismith Memorial

Ralph Miller (coach), 1988

Pro football

Bill Parcells, 2013

x-The Naismith Memorial Basketball HOF is made up of all levels of basketball.

Former Wichita State All-American Xavier McDaniel, known to Shocker fans simply as “X,” is headed to the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame.

The Shockers’ first player to be inducted into any major basketball hall of fame, McDaniel will be inducted Nov. 24 in Kansas City, Mo., home of the hall. It’s a day before Wichita State meets DePaul in the first round of the two-day Collegiate Basketball Experience Classic at Kansas City’s Sprint Center.

McDaniel was a two-time Missouri Valley Conference Player of the Year in his career (1981-85), but what gained him the most recognition was in becoming the first collegiate player to lead the nation in scoring (27.4 points) and rebounding (15.0) in the same season. He did it as a senior, leading WSU to the NCAA Tournament.

A tenacious rebounder at 6-foot-7, McDaniel was the fourth pick in the 1985 NBA Draft (Seattle) and played for five NBA teams over 13 seasons. He was in seven years of playoffs and made one All-Star game appearance (1988).

McDaniel was one of nine new Hall members announced Monday.

Elvin Hayes was a dominant force at Houston and as a pro. Marques Johnson of UCLA, Maryland’s Tom McMillen and Grambling’s Bob Hopkins will join them as players.

Kansas State alumnus Gene Keady will be inducted for his success as Purdue’s coach. Keady, from Larned, is already in the NJCAA Hall of Fame as a player (Garden City) and coach (Hutchinson). At Purdue, Keady was national coach of the year six times.

Also to be inducted are former Villanova coach Rollie Massimino, George Raveling of Nike, George Killian of the International Basketball Federation, and the 1963 NCAA-winning Loyola Ramblers.

Subscribe to our newsletters

The Wichita Eagle welcomes your comments on news of the day. The more voices engaged in conversation, the better for us all, but do keep it civil. Please refrain from profanity, obscenity, spam, name-calling or attacking others for their views. Please see our commenting policy for more information.

Have a news tip? You can send it to wenews@wichitaeagle.com.

Search for a job


Top jobs