Log Out | Member Center



Spirit to elect board members at stockholders meeting Tuesday

  • The Wichita Eagle
  • Published Monday, April 29, 2013, at 1:07 p.m.

Spirit AeroSystems will hold its annual stockholders meeting Tuesday in Herndon, Va., where it will elect board members, including the anticipated election of Spirit’s new CEO to the board.

Larry Lawson assumed the position of Spirit’s CEO and president April 6. He replaced the retiring Jeff Turner, who will remain on the board of directors.

As part of the board elections, the board is expected to increase the number of members from nine to 10.

Spirit became a company in 2006 after Boeing sold its commercial aircraft division in Wichita to Onex Corp.

According to a filing with the Securities and Exchange Committee, nominees for board spots include:

• Charles Chadwell, 72, who joined the board in 2008. Until his retirement in 2002, Chadwell was vice president and general manager of commercial engine operations for General Electric Aircraft Engines.

• Ivor (Ike) Evans, 70, a board member since 2006. Evans has been an operating partner at HCI Equity Partners since 2005 and is a former vice chairman of Union Pacific Corp. and Union Pacific Railroad.

• Paul Fulchino, 66, who joined the board in 2006. Until he retired in 2010, Fulchino served as chairman, president and CEO of Aviall, which became a subsidiary of Boeing in 2006. He also was president and chief operating officer of BE Aerospace.

• Richard Gephardt, 72, a board member since 2006. He was a member of the U.S. House of Representatives from 1977 to 2005 and served as majority and minority leader. Since then, he’s been president and CEO of Gephardt Group, a consulting firm. He also is an adviser to Goldman Sachs and senior counsel at DLA Piper.

• Robert Johnson, 65, who joined the board in 2006 and is its chairman. Until he retired in 2008, Johnson served as CEO of Dubai Aerospace Enterprise. He also was chairman, president and CEO of Honeywell Aerospace and president of marketing, sales and service at AlliedSignal and president of electronic and avionics.

• Ronald Kadish, 64, who joined the board in 2006 after 34 years with the Air Force. While in the Air Force, he was director of the Missile Defense Agency and director of the Ballistic Missile Defense Organization.

• Lawson 55, who is the former executive vice president of aeronautics for Lockheed Martin Corp., and led its military aircraft business.

• Tawfiq Popatia, 38, who joined the board in 2010. He is a principal of Onex Corp and a senior member of Onex’s aerospace and defense industry investment team, which oversees Onex’s investment in Spirit.

• Francis Raborn, 69, who joined the board in 2006. He retired from United Defense Industries in 2005 as vice president and chief financial officer.

• Jeff Turner, 61, who became a board member in 2006 and served as president and CEO of the company since its inception. Turner joined Boeing in 1973 and was appointed vice president and general manager of Boeing’s Wichita division in 1995.

The board members are elected for one-year terms, according to the SEC filing.

There are no family relationships among the company’s executive officers and board members, the filing said.

Stockholders may vote on the nominees and may attend the stockholders meeting, which starts at 10 a.m. Central time at the Hilton Dulles Airport in Herndon, Va.

Contact Molly McMillin at 316-269-6708 or mmcmillin@wichitaeagle.com.

Subscribe to our newsletters

The Wichita Eagle welcomes your comments on news of the day. The more voices engaged in conversation, the better for us all, but do keep it civil. Please refrain from profanity, obscenity, spam, name-calling or attacking others for their views. Please see our commenting policy for more information.

Have a news tip? You can send it to wenews@wichitaeagle.com or consider joining the Public Insight Network and become a source for The Wichita Eagle.

Search for a job


Top jobs