Log Out | Member Center



Wichita State announces scholarship finalists

  • Published Thursday, Dec. 13, 2012, at 10:32 a.m.

Wichita State University has named the 12 finalists in its Distinguished Scholarship Invitational, officials announced in a news release Thursday.

Two of the finalists will be selected as recipients of the Harry Gore Memorial scholarship, which at $48,000 is among the largest undergraduate awards in Kansas.

The finalists are: Courtney Allen, Wichita Southeast High School; Blair Benton, Circle High; T.J. Blake, Hutchinson High; David Brink, Goddard Eisenhower; Hassan Farhoud, Wichita Collegiate; Kelsey Hanna, Rose Hill High; Hannah Hoetmer, Goddard High; Reegan Innes, Mulvane High; Amanda Johnson, Wichita Northwest; Carley Larson, Wichita Heights; Sachin Pendse, Wichita East; and Kendall Winterhalter, Wichita South.

This year’s invitational was the largest in history, with 413 students competing. To be invited to compete, students had to have a 24 or higher ACT score and a minimum 3.50 cumulative GPA.

Finalists will return to the WSU campus Jan. 30 for final interviews. The Gore Scholars will be announced Jan. 31. All finalists will receive WSU scholarship packages.

Subscribe to our newsletters

The Wichita Eagle welcomes your comments on news of the day. The more voices engaged in conversation, the better for us all, but do keep it civil. Please refrain from profanity, obscenity, spam, name-calling or attacking others for their views. Please see our commenting policy for more information.

Have a news tip? You can send it to wenews@wichitaeagle.com.

Search for a job


Top jobs