Log Out | Member Center



K-State’s Collin Klein, Arthur Brown get national honors

  • Eagle news services
  • Published Thursday, Dec. 6, 2012, at 9:28 p.m.
  • Updated Sunday, August 25, 2013, at 9:02 a.m.

Collin Klein didn’t win the two awards he was up for at the Home Depot College Football Awards show on Thursday in Orlando, Fla., but Kansas State landed two players on the Walter Camp All-America team.

Klein, a senior quarterback who is also a Heisman Trophy finalist, was named to the second-team offense. Arthur Brown, a senior linebacker from Wichita, was named to the second-team defense.

They are the ninth and 10th players in K-State history to earn the accolades. Tyler Lockett made the team a year ago as a first-team kick returner and Nigel Malone was a second-team defensive back.

Klein was a finalist for the Maxwell Award (nation’s top player), which went to Notre Dame’s Manti Te’o, and the Davey O’Brien Award (quarterback), won by Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel.

Klein threw for 2,490 yards and rushed for 890 yards while scoring 37 touchdowns this season. Brown led the team with 91 tackles and also made two interceptions.

He is the first defensive player to win the award since 1980, ending a string of nine straight quarterbacks.

It’s the sixth national award that Te’o has won since the end of the regular season. The Fighting Irish senior has also has won the Bednarik Award, Butkus Award, Bronko Nagurski Trophy, Lombardi Award and Walter Camp national player of the year award.

Subscribe to our newsletters

The Wichita Eagle welcomes your comments on news of the day. The more voices engaged in conversation, the better for us all, but do keep it civil. Please refrain from profanity, obscenity, spam, name-calling or attacking others for their views. Please see our commenting policy for more information.

Have a news tip? You can send it to wenews@wichitaeagle.com.

Search for a job


Top jobs