Log Out | Member Center



Collin Klein, Arthur Brown lead six Wildcats on All-Big 12 list

  • The Wichita Eagle
  • Published Wednesday, Dec. 5, 2012, at 11:20 a.m.
  • Updated Sunday, May 11, 2014, at 1:13 p.m.


Wildcat fans, does the Fiesta Bowl change your New Year’s travel plans?

Fiesta Bowl Ticket Information

For the second straight year, K-State sold out its bowl game ticket allotment through pre-order sales. The Wildcats received a larger-than-usual 21,500 seats for the Fiesta Bowl. That means all fans who placed a pre-order will receive the number of tickets they requested.

K-State is asking fans who did not pre-order through K-State to purchase tickets through the Fiesta Bowl at www.fiestabowl.org or by calling (800) 635-5748.

The Kansas State Alumni Association is offering travel and hospitality packages through K-StateSportsTravel.com.

Student tickets, 1,000 seats reserved in the lower level, are available for $105 and will be available to current ICAT pass-holders Wednesday at the K-State ticket office.

— The Kansas State football team was well represented when Big 12 coaches and media announced their all-conference teams Wednesday.

Wildcat quarterback Collin Klein was named Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year by both groups, and coach Bill Snyder swept the Coach of the Year award.

Linebacker Arthur Brown was named Defensive Player of the Year by the league’s coaches, while Meshak Williams took home Defensive Lineman of the Year honors.

But they weren’t the only ones singled out. K-State led the league with six first-team All-Big 12 selections. Sophomore center B.J. Finney, senior tight end Travis Tannahill and junior safety Ty Zimmerman joined Klein, Brown and Williams. The Wildcats also produced five second-team selections and eight honorable mentions.

Oklahoma State had the second-most first-team selections with five. Wichita native Joseph Randle led the way for the Cowboys at running back.

K-State’s second-team selections were left tackle Cornelius Lucas, receiver Tyler Lockett, kicker Anthony Cantele, defensive lineman Adam Davis and cornerback Nigel Malone.

The awards could keep coming for K-State. Klein is one of three finalists for the Heisman Trophy, which will be presented at a ceremony in New York on Saturday.

Check Kellis Robinett’s K-State blog at blogs.kansas.com/kstated. Reach him at krobinett@wichitaeagle.com.

Subscribe to our newsletters

The Wichita Eagle welcomes your comments on news of the day. The more voices engaged in conversation, the better for us all, but do keep it civil. Please refrain from profanity, obscenity, spam, name-calling or attacking others for their views. Please see our commenting policy for more information.

Have a news tip? You can send it to wenews@wichitaeagle.com.

Search for a job


Top jobs