Log Out | Member Center



State awards health grants to rural communities

  • The Wichita Eagle
  • Published Thursday, Nov. 15, 2012, at 10:57 a.m.
  • Updated Thursday, Nov. 15, 2012, at 10:58 a.m.

The Kansas Department of Health and Environment has given 11 rural communities grants to support local community health assessment and improvement planning efforts, KDHE Secretary Robert Moser’s office announced Thursday.

The counties that will receive grants from the department’s Office of Rural Health are Brown, Dickinson, Jackson, Marion, Ottawa, Phillips, Republic, Rice, Russell, Wilson and Washington, according to a news release.

The grants are for amounts up to $4,000 and are awarded to local health departments or rural hospitals. They’re supposed to be used for such things as town hall meetings and community surveys. KDHE has also awarded a regional community engagement grant to be shared by Chautauqua, Cherokee, Crawford, Elk, Labette, Montgomery, Neosho and Wilson counties for $10,000.

Subscribe to our newsletters

The Wichita Eagle welcomes your comments on news of the day. The more voices engaged in conversation, the better for us all, but do keep it civil. Please refrain from profanity, obscenity, spam, name-calling or attacking others for their views. Please see our commenting policy for more information.

Have a news tip? You can send it to wenews@wichitaeagle.com.

Search for a job


Top jobs