Log Out | Member Center



Ask sports Ask sports: Has either Kansas or K-State ever been No. 1 in the Bowl Championship Series?

  • Published Sunday, Nov. 11, 2012, at 7:15 a.m.
  • Updated Tuesday, Jan. 1, 2013, at 6:05 p.m.

Has either Kansas or K-State ever been No. 1 in the Bowl Championship Series?

Heading into this week’s standings release Sunday, the Jayhawks and Wildcats had each reached the same pinnacle in the 14-year history of the BCS: No. 2.

Prior to this season, the highest the Wildcats had been ranked in the BCS was No. 3, a spot K-State held for four weeks in 1998 before playing in the Big 12 Championship against Texas A&M.

Earlier in the day, UCLA, the No. 2 team in the BCS, lost to Miami in a rescheduled game, opening the door for the Wildcats, who were No. 2 in the AP poll, to take on top-ranked Tennessee for the BCS title.

A double-overtime loss to A&M ended those chances and sent K-State packing for the lower-tier Alamo Bowl, despite the Wildcats holding on to their No. 3 BCS ranking after the loss.

This season, the Wildcats moved up one spot to No. 2 in the BCS for the program’s highest point so far.

The Jayhawks got to No. 2 in their unprecedented 2007 season, when KU started the season 11-0. After a 45-7 win against Iowa State on Nov. 17, 2007, the Jayhawks entered their showdown against Missouri as the No. 2 team in the BCS standings, the Associated Press and coaches poll.

Prior to that showdown at Arrowhead with No. 3 Missouri, top-ranked Louisiana State lost in triple-overtime to Arkansas, ensuring that the KU-MU winner would emerge as the new No. 1 in the BCS.

Like K-State nine years earlier, the Jayhawks couldn’t quite get there, losing to Mizzou 36-28. KU finished the regular season ranked No. 8 in the BCS, and accepted an at-large bid to the Orange Bowl, where the Jayhawks defeated Virginia Tech 24-21.

Does Archie Griffin get two Heisman Trophy votes?

Many people know that former recipients of the Heisman Trophy also receive something in addition to one of the most famous statues in sports: a vote for the award in future seasons.

Griffin, who won the award in consecutive years in 1974 and 1975 while at Ohio State, is the only two-time winner in the trophy’s 77-year history.

That does not entitle him to multiple votes, however.

In an online chat he conducted on ESPN.com in 2004, Griffin answered the question himself.

“That is the most common question I get! I’ve been lobbying for that but I just get the one vote,” he wrote at the time.

Joshua Wood

Subscribe to our newsletters

The Wichita Eagle welcomes your comments on news of the day. The more voices engaged in conversation, the better for us all, but do keep it civil. Please refrain from profanity, obscenity, spam, name-calling or attacking others for their views. Please see our commenting policy for more information.

Have a news tip? You can send it to wenews@wichitaeagle.com.

Search for a job


Top jobs