Log Out | Member Center



Eagle editorial: Voters wield the power

  • Published Friday, Nov. 2, 2012, at 5:21 p.m.
  • Updated Friday, Nov. 2, 2012, at 5:21 p.m.

The ugliness of this endless campaign finally will make way Tuesday for those who wield the power, the voters. The free exercise of this precious right is a beautiful thing to participate in and behold.

Kansans who haven’t already voted still have time to arm themselves with information about the candidates and issues, then grab their approved photo ID and go to the polls. The Eagle’s voter guide, both the print version from the Oct. 28 edition and the online guide at Kansas.com, should ease the decision-making process.

As the nation chooses between President Obama and challenger Mitt Romney, and sets a course for Congress, Kansans will determine how strongly Gov. Sam Brownback will control both legislative chambers next year. The control of the Sedgwick County Commission is up to District 2 voters. And as voters statewide choose whether to let lawmakers do something about Kansas’ sky-high boat taxes, Wichita voters will settle whether to fluoridate the city’s water.

A list of The Eagle editorial board’s recommendations in the contested races and on the ballot questions follows (full endorsements can be read online at kansas.com/opinion). Please vote.

Eagle editorial board endorsements

4th Congressional District: Mike Pompeo

Sedgwick County

Commission District 2: Tim Norton

Sheriff: Jeff Easter

District Court, Division 13: Richard Ballinger

Kansas Senate

District 25: Michael O’Donnell

District 27: Les Donovan

District 28: Keith Humphrey

District 29: Oletha Faust-Goudeau

District 30: Susan Wagle

Kansas House

District 81: Jim Howell

District 83: Carolyn Bridges

District 84: Gail Finney

District 85: Steve Brunk

District 86: Jim Ward

District 87: Mark Kahrs

District 88: Patricia Sloop

District 89: Roderick Houston

District 90: Steve Huebert

District 91: Gene Suellentrop

District 92: Nile Dillmore

District 93: George (Joe) Edwards

District 95: Tom Sawyer

District 96: Brandon Whipple

District 97: Dale Swenson

District 98: Geraldine Flaharty

District 100: Daniel R. Hawkins

District 105: Mark E. Hutton

Appellate courts

Retain state Supreme Court Justice Nancy Moritz and Kansas Court of Appeals Judges Steve Leben, G. Joseph Pierron Jr., David E. Bruns, G. Gordon Atcheson and Karen Arnold-Burger. (Judge Richard Greene recently died.)

Water fluoridation: Yes

Watercraft constitutional amendment: Yes

Subscribe to our newsletters

The Wichita Eagle welcomes your comments on news of the day. The more voices engaged in conversation, the better for us all, but do keep it civil. Please refrain from profanity, obscenity, spam, name-calling or attacking others for their views. Please see our commenting policy for more information.

Have a news tip? You can send it to wenews@wichitaeagle.com.

Search for a job


Top jobs