Log Out | Member Center



Royals’ Gordon wins second Gold Glove

  • Kansas City Star
  • Published Tuesday, Oct. 30, 2012, at 9:50 p.m.
  • Updated Tuesday, Oct. 30, 2012, at 10:06 p.m.

The Royals’ Alex Gordon solidified his status as the best defensive left fielder in the American League on Tuesday night when he won a second consecutive Gold Glove award.

The award for outstanding defensive performance came after a vote by managers and coaches and it was announced in a live telecast on ESPN2. The other finalists were Desmond Jennings of the Tampa Bay Rays and David Murphy of the Texas Rangers.

“Players always want to be consistent and go out there and always produce well,” Gordon said. “To win it again is a great honor. I’m very excited about it. Hopefully, I can keep on being consistent in the outfield and keep bringing Gold Gloves home. It’s pretty cool.”

This season, Gordon had 24 runs saved (a sabermetric statistic), the most of any left fielder in baseball, according to FanGraphs. Jennings was second in the AL with nine. That helped him win The Fielding Bible award last week as the best left fielder in baseball.

While Gordon’s 17 outfield assists were three less than his team record of a year ago, they were the most by a left fielder in the majors. Additionally, Gordon made just two errors for a .994 fielding percentage.

The last Royals player to win a Gold Glove award in consecutive years was second baseman Frank White in 1986-87.

Gordon, 28, also had another sensational year at the plate. He batted .294 with a major-league best 51 doubles, 14 home runs, 72 RBIs and 73 walks.

What’s particularly impressive about Gordon’s run of Gold Gloves is that he played third base until midway through 2010 when physical limitations from a surgically-repaired right hip prompted his switch.

“The funny thing is when I was playing third base and taking ground balls over and over again, I would always go to the outfield and shag (flies) and tell guys, ‘Man, I wish I played in the outfield,’” Gordon said. “I think it was always maybe destined that I was supposed to go out there.”

While Gordon said he initially felt lost in the outfield, things turned in spring training in 2011 as he began throwing out runners. The rest is history.

The award apparently also serves a dual purpose.

“The last one was used as a chip-and-dip tray in Kansas City,” Gordon said. “Maybe we’ll put this one on the shelf and have it in the Lincoln (Neb.) house.”

Gordon’s selection marks the 20th time a Royals player received the award, but only the fourth time since 1989. Outfielder Jermaine Dye won in 2000 and second baseman Mark Grudzielanek won in 2006.

White won eight times from 1977-87. The other winners were Amos Otis (three times), Al Cowens, Willie Wilson, George Brett, Bob Boone, Bret Saberhagen, Dye and Grudzielanek.

The Gold Glove awards are sponsored by Rawlings, a sports-equipment manufacturer, and date to 1957.

Subscribe to our newsletters

The Wichita Eagle welcomes your comments on news of the day. The more voices engaged in conversation, the better for us all, but do keep it civil. Please refrain from profanity, obscenity, spam, name-calling or attacking others for their views. Please see our commenting policy for more information.

Have a news tip? You can send it to wenews@wichitaeagle.com.

Search for a job


Top jobs