Log Out | Member Center



Differences, commonalities mark the four corners of Kansas

  • The Wichita Eagle
  • Published Sunday, Sep. 2, 2012, at 7:15 a.m.
  • Updated Tuesday, Sep. 4, 2012, at 8:27 a.m.

From dusty badlands and rain-blessed hills to desert and forest land, we are a state of variables.

Kansas, all 82,000 square miles, is diverse in its geography, weather and economy.

Hundreds of miles separate the four corners of Kansas: Cheyenne County in the northwest; Doniphan in the northeast; Cherokee in the southeast, and Morton in the southwest.

Kansans who live in the four corners are independent, but loyal to the Sunflower State.

“I’m a Jayhawker all the way,” said Larry O’Neal of Baxter Springs, in Cherokee County.

Yet, when they do their shopping, chances are they are just as apt to go to Amarillo, Denver, Kansas City, Mo., Tulsa or Joplin. And most live closer to other state capitals than Topeka.

But they are proud of their counties and the ideals they think make a Kansan: stubbornness, hard work, being a good neighbor and a love for the land.

Subscribe to our newsletters

The Wichita Eagle welcomes your comments on news of the day. The more voices engaged in conversation, the better for us all, but do keep it civil. Please refrain from profanity, obscenity, spam, name-calling or attacking others for their views. Please see our commenting policy for more information.

Have a news tip? You can send it to wenews@wichitaeagle.com.

Search for a job


Top jobs