Log Out | Member Center



Candidates file to run for county races

  • The Wichita Eagle
  • Published Friday, June 1, 2012, at 9:46 p.m.

Friday’s filing deadline for Sedgwick County races passed without any surprises.

Among the highlights are races for two county commission seats and to replace retiring District Attorney Nola Foulston.

Four incumbent Sedgwick County District Court judges face challengers, while two open judgeships will be decided in the Republican primary in August. Sheriff Robert Hinshaw also faces two challengers.

Wichita City Council member Jeff Longwell is trying to become second elected official in as many elections to move across the street from City Hall to the county courthouse. Longwell is challenging fellow Republican Karl Peterjohn for the District 3 seat on the county commission.

Peterjohn seeks re-election to the seat he won in 2008. District 3 covers the western part Wichita and the county, including Goddard and Cheney. Peterjohn and Longwell will meet in the Aug. 7 primary.

In District 2, Democratic incumbent Tim Norton won’t meet his opponent, Republican Ben Sauceda, until the Nov. 6 general election. Neither is opposed in the primary.

Norton seeks his fourth term in District 2, which includes south-central Wichita and Haysville. Sauceda, 28, is an associate pastor at Temple Baptist Church.

Deputy District Attorney Marc Bennett and Wichita lawyer Kevin O’Connor will meet in the Republican primary for district attorney. There is no Democrat candidate.

Hinshaw seeks a second term as Sedgwick County sheriff. He will be opposed in the Republican primary by Jeff Easter, a Wichita police captain. Jefrey Weinman, a retired Wichita police officer, is unopposed in the Democrat primary.

Butler and Sumner counties could have interesting races for sheriff.

Carl Enterkin, a 37-year veteran as a lawman and a former Wichita cop, is challenging incumbent Kelly Herzet in the Republican primary. Herzet, who has spent more than two decades with the Butler County Sheriff’s Office, was named sheriff in April 2011 to fill out the term of Craig Murphy, who stepped down for health reasons.

In Sumner County, Gerald Gilkey is trying to get his old job back as sheriff. He’ll face incumbent Darren Chambers in the GOP primary.

Gilkey was in his third term as sheriff when he stepped down last August to become the new security director for the Kansas Star Casino in Mulvane. He later left that job. Chambers was appointed to replace Gilkey in August after having served as a Wichita police officer and in the Sumner County Sheriff’s Office.

Filing for state legislative seats and congressional seats has been delayed while a court tries to set new district boundaries. That filing deadline is tentatively set for June 11.

Here are contested races by county.

Sedgwick County

Commission, District 2


• Tim Norton, 64, Haysville, commissioner since 2001


• Benjamin Sauceda, 28, Wichita, associate pastor

Commission, District 3


• Jeff Longwell, 52, Wichita, City Council member

• Karl Peterjohn, 62, Wichita, commissioner since 2008

District attorney


• Marc A. Bennett, 41, Cheney, deputy district attorney

• Kevin O’Connor, 48, Wichita, lawyer, special prosecutor



• Jefrey Weinman, 51, Wichita, retired Wichita police officer


• Jeff Easter, 43, Colwich, Wichita police captain

• Robert Hinshaw, 54, Wichita, sheriff since 2008

18th Judicial District

This district covers Sedgwick County. Divisions for district judge designate office and have no geographical significance.

Division 1


• Phillip B. Journey, 56, Haysville, attorney since 1983, district judge since 2008

• Linda Kirby, 61, Wichita, attorney

Division 2


• Dave Dahl, 62, Wichita, attorney since 1978

• Faith Maughan, 41, Wichita, attorney since 1998

Division 13


• Richard Ballinger, 60, Derby, district judge since 1992


• Zoe Newton, 45, Wichita, lawyer since 2000

Division 14


• Jama D. Mitchell, 48, Wichita, Sedgwick County deputy public defender

• David Nelson, 59, Wichita, attorney since 1980

• J. Patrick Walters, 52, Wichita, district judge since 2008

Division 20


• Charles Steve Osburn, 55, Sedgwick County public defender

• Stephen J. Ternes, 47, Wichita, attorney since 1990

Division 23


• David Calvert, 70, Wichita, district judge 1973-1983; private practice attorney since 1984

• William S. Woolley, 53, Wichita, district judge since 2000

Butler County

Commission, District 3


• Bruce Harris, El Dorado, 67, current commissioner

• Ed Myers, Whitewater, 61



• Carl Enterkin, 63, Andover, former Wichita police officer

• Kelly Herzet, 55, Potwin, sheriff since April 2011



• Don Engels, El Dorado, 60

• Ron Roberts, Andover, 71, current clerk

Register of deeds


• Marcia McCoy, 56, El Dorado, current register of deeds

• Julie A. Winslow, 57, Rose Hill

Harvey County

Commission, District 2


• Randy Hague, 60, Newton

• Marjorie Roberson, 68, Newton, current commissioner

Commission, District 3


• William H. Ewert, 80, Halstead

• Ron L. Krehbiel, 70, Burrton, current commissioner

• Leo B. Stahly, 69, Newton

• Lenny Wild, 63, Newton

Sumner County

Commission, District 2


• Paula Mortimer, 44, Wellington

• Jim D. Newell, 64, Wellington, current commissioner

County attorney


• Kerwin L. Spencer, 56, Wellington

• Evan C. Watson, 47, Belle Plaine, current county attorney



• Darren Chambers, 50, Peck, sheriff since August 2011

Gerald R. Gilkey, 43, Peck, former sheriff

Register of deeds


• Jessica D. Anderson, 42, Wellington

• Deborah Baker, 43, Wellington

• Scott Funderburk, 53, Wellington



• Dannetta Cook, 60, Wellington

• Vickey E. Horton, 64, Mulvane

Subscribe to our newsletters

The Wichita Eagle welcomes your comments on news of the day. The more voices engaged in conversation, the better for us all, but do keep it civil. Please refrain from profanity, obscenity, spam, name-calling or attacking others for their views. Please see our commenting policy for more information.

Have a news tip? You can send it to wenews@wichitaeagle.com.

Search for a job


Top jobs