Log Out | Member Center



Local farmers eligible for disaster aid

  • The Wichita Eagle
  • Published Saturday, June 25, 2011, at 12:07 a.m.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has named Sedgwick, Butler, Harvey and Sumner counties, along with 21 others in central Kansas, as natural disaster areas.

USDA said the severe drought, excessive heat and high winds have hurt crop production since the beginning of the year.

The counties included are: Barber, Barton, Butler, Clark, Comanche, Cowley, Edwards, Ellis, Ford, Graham, Gray, Harper, Harvey, Hodgeman, Kingman, Lincoln, Norton, Phillips, Reno, Rice, Russell, Sedgwick, Stafford, Sumner and Trego.

Farmers and ranchers also qualify for assistance in the 24 contiguous counties of Chase, Chautauqua, Decatur, Elk, Ellsworth, Finney, Gove, Greenwood, Haskell, Kiowa, Marion, McPherson, Meade, Mitchell, Ness, Osborne, Ottawa, Pawnee, Pratt, Rooks, Rush, Saline, Sheridan and Smith.

This is in addition to the 21 western Kansas counties USDA named as disaster areas last month.

"Our farmers and ranchers have had a rough go this year and I'm pleased USDA acted swiftly in designating these counties in Kansas as disaster areas," said Sen. Pat Roberts.

"Secretary (Tom) Vilsack's latest disaster designation is necessary for Kansas farmers and ranchers in the affected counties," said Sen. Jerry Moran.

These counties are eligible for the emergency loan program administrated by the Farm Service Agency and the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments Program.

Subscribe to our newsletters

The Wichita Eagle welcomes your comments on news of the day. The more voices engaged in conversation, the better for us all, but do keep it civil. Please refrain from profanity, obscenity, spam, name-calling or attacking others for their views. Please see our commenting policy for more information.

Have a news tip? You can send it to wenews@wichitaeagle.com.

Search for a job


Top jobs